top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDean Huyck

An Encounter with Another Great Teacher


Yesterday on my trail run I had a marvelous encounter. While running along I looked down to see a small snake stretched out across the path. Sadly, it’s not uncommon that I find a snake that has been run over by a mountain bike as it sunned itself on the trail. However, this little red bellied snake was still fine as it tried to get its body to a functional temperature. I reached down in hopes of helping it along to a safer sunning spot. It was still quite cold from the night and barely moving. So I picked him up, held him in my palm and faced the rising sun. What a precious moment. Feeling the warmth of the sun on my face, following my breath and giving some of my own heat to this amazing and beautiful creature in my hand, I smiled at how fortunate and honoured I was to be sharing in this.

Many people fear snakes. They fear them just as they might also fear change and that which is different from them. It is in these fears that Snake is our teacher. Snakes are amazing creatures. The way they experience the world is so unique. As a snake grows it sheds its skin. Wouldn’t it be disconcerting to see the husk of your former self lying there? The metaphor for my own retirement is not lost on me. This kind of magic is available to us all. We so often need to shed our skin, accepting that we will never fit into it again and that the new one is just so shiny and wonderful.

We are beings of change.

I felt some movement in my hand as the snake began to perk up and twist itself around my fingers. I smiled and thanked him for this time and set him down on a sunny rock well off the path... right beside this big sheet of skin that might look a little like me.

(Note: I didn't take the photo I used here. I don't run with my phone. So, that is not my hand but the snake is a perfect likeness in colouring and size. The photo is from http://www.naturenorth.com/Herps/MHA_Snakes.html )


66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page