top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDean Huyck

Puppy Lessons


I have always tried to abide by certain rules as to what I post online. In fact, I inform people of those rules at public appearances. You won’t get any of those “hey look at me living my best life” posts of my family, vacation, pets or food. If you want any of those things invite yourself over for dinner. You’ll get plenty of each... during genuine interpersonal exchange. Otherwise, why would I think you’d give a rat’s ass as to what my lunch looked like? So here I am about to break one of those rules regarding pets. Heck, they’re my rules and the lessons I’ve picked up seem worth bending this one for. The irony being, this post will probably attract more readers than my usual blathering because of the whole puppy thing.

I have always had dogs. For reasons I can’t truly explain, I’ve never felt quite right unless there was one or two in my life. Consequently, having a puppy isn’t anything novel. However it would seem my life situation is quite different from when I was raising puppies in the past. There aren’t any little kids to garner most of my attention nor am I immersed in playing a role in the most important profession in the world. Nope, for the most part, it’s been just me, another old dog and a puppy for the last couple months. This time around I’ve been able to truly Pay Attention to the lessons the little whirlwind of teeth and excrement has to offer me. I can’t imagine I’m the first one to come up with any of these but here they are in no particular order:

  • The world is a truly wondrous place with every branch, rock and snowflake containing some element of magic to amaze and captivate. This is the gift of the Beginner’s Mind.

  • Sometimes, certain things have to be experienced in ways that may greatly annoy others but are probably worth the risk

  • New and strange things that at first are frightening can turn out to be so very enriching when you give them the chance

  • Worship the people that are important to you

  • There is probably an element of fun in damn near everything

  • Expending yourself physically is an absolute must for Well Being

  • Learn the rules that truly make life easier and safer for you and everyone else and follow them in your own fashion. The rest of the rules are totally negotiable and likely unnecessary.

  • Let the world know how you feel

  • Greet others with sincerity

  • There’s probably always time for some play

  • Old dogs never forget the importance of play and the need for it. They just hang out with a boring crowd and need to be reminded.

  • Aging is inevitable and needs to be embraced.

  • It doesn’t matter what you can no longer do... but what you can still do.

  • All of our senses have something to offer to our understanding of things

  • Sometimes, just being nearby is enough

  • It’s so awesome when an important someone comes back to you. Every. Single. Time.

I’ll let you know if any more come my way.


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page